Visa-free entry to Russia for participants of the Eastern Economic Forum

Visa-free entry to Russia for participants of the Eastern Economic Forum

The Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev signed an order “On the procedure for entry and departure from Russia of foreign citizens in connection with the holding of the Eastern Economic Forum”. According to the order, in 2017 the participants of the Eastern Economic Forum who do not have Russian citizenship can stay on the territory of the country without visas from the 3rd to the 9th of September.

It is necessary to stress that the Eastern Economic Forum was established in 2015 to promote the development of the economy of the Far East and the expansion of international cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region. A special procedure for entering the Far East is for citizens of 18 foreign states, including Algeria, Bahrain, Brunei, India, Iran, Qatar, China, North Korea, Kuwait, Morocco, Mexico, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Tunisia, Turkey and Japan.

This year the Eastern Economic Forum will be held on Russky Island for the third time, on the 6th and 7th of September. The Russian President Vladimir Putin and a number of foreign leaders, including Japan's Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and South Korean President Mun Zhe Ying will take part in this forum.

During the forum, business negotiations between Russia and China, Russia and the Republic of Korea, Russia and Japan will be held. For the first time, a dialogue between Russia and India will take place. Besides, young scientists, students and different representatives of foreign companies will take part in the forum.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017